Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Ode to Zumba

I have been racking my brain trying to figure out what my next post would be about. Honestly, all the ideas so far have been on the negative side, BUT i just returned from my Wednesday night Zumba class feeling energized, and good about myself....so this post will be dedicated to my love of Zumba!

Zumba, for those who are unfamilar, is a latin or hip-hop infused aerobics class. I started going last May and this is by far the only workout i have stuck with. It's just plain fun! Usually trying to get myself to the gym is not high on the priority list, do i really want to go run on a treadmill for 30 minutes? Blah....ugh..boring...

Also, i have a tendency to be intimidated by the other people in the gym, you know the ones im talking about...Mr or Mrs "i workout all the time, look at my great butt, my big muscles". Yeah, i don't want to be around them. But Zumba is different it brings together a wide range of women (guys seem to be scared of this class), you have old and young, fat and skinny, coordinated and uncoordinated, but everyone just has a good time and does what they can. I always leave feeling like im in WAY better shape than i actually am.

So this is my advice, go to a Zumba class at your local YMCA bring a friend and have some fun...while burning calories!

AK

No comments:

Post a Comment